Tuesday, May 31, 2005

Play-yan may be bundled with Gameboy Micro

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
The play-Yan connects to any GBA or DS

The japanese peripheral, Play-Yan may be included with the release of the Gameboy Micro, hints NOA VP George Harrison. Revealed in an interview with Gamespot. Heres an excerpt:

GS: OK, let's move onto the Game Boy Micro. Now what was the primary thinking behind that?

GH: We think about new ideas for Game Boy all the time. Whereas the consoles are typically a five or six year lifecycle and we finish one and start up the next one, Game Boy is a continuous process of invention, looking at all sorts of ideas. The idea for a small Game Boy came maybe two years ago, and we refined it to the point where we felt like it can really have a place. It plays all the current Game Boy games, but it's got a place by virtue of its size. It's a little bit more image-focused, and maybe more appropriate for some of the people who are more casual gamers now.

GS: And you mentioned that the screen was the brightest one you've made so far, right?

GH: Yeah, it's a 2-inch screen. The Game Boy Advance SP screen is about 2.5 inches, so it's little smaller. But as a result of that we can get a clarity that's really incredible, and the screen is done by Sharp.

GS: So this is just kind of a remix of the Game Boy, a hipper Game Boy. Is this going to have a different price point?

GH: It may. We're also looking at what the price and bundle combination might be for the fall. One of the things that they've launched in Japan that we're considering is--it's called the Play-Yan and it allows you to play MP3 music or MP4 video files in your Game Boy. We're trying to see how that's doing and if that makes sense to bring out as a companion to this.

GS: There were some rumors that this would actually have the Play-Yan function built in...

GH: No this does not have it built in. The Play-Yan function can work either on the Game Boy Micro or on the regular SP.

GS: So is this going to work for games just like a regular Game Boy?

GH: Right.



The full interview may be found here


Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
This is the Gameboy Micro. Tiny, ain't it? Its Nintendo's smallest hendheld yet, maybe that will give you an idea of its size.

Nintendo news and media.

Heres some stuff I found this morning.

Mario 128 not to appear on cube?
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Yep, you heard me. Aparently in an interview it was revealed that Mario 128 will be released for the revoltution instead. So you don't have to skim the article, I'll paste the bit right here:

It was mentioned at the press conference that several big Nintendo franchise games are already in production for Revolution. Should Cube owners be worried that they've already reached the end of the line, and is Mario 128 still a Cube prospect?

Marko Hein: Mario 128 is not coming to Cube. We do have four other Mario titles, however, so we are giving the consumer what he wants. And Iwata said at the press conference that a Mario game was underway on Revolution. I think that explains everything.


There you have it. Marko Hein is Nintendo's Head of European Product Analasys, so make of that what you will.
While it sucks having to wait for a new Mario game, at least this means the Rev will launch with one. Remember how the Cube didn't?
Heres the source by the way: (it requires registration to see the whole article, but it is free.)

Click the Link!

New DS images
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Theres a ton of new DS images posted on the boards at lik-sang.com. Pretty cool if you havent seen em, and if you havent, you should.

Click the Link!


Thats all for now.

Monday, May 30, 2005

Pretty cool stuff.

Ok, so I said that the primary reason of this Blog was to share some crap I've found, right? Where heres where I live up to that claim.
Got a couple things for this posting.

RE2source
Got Half-Life 2? Nice.
I've came across a site Thats working on a RE2 mod for HL2. Big fan of RE here, but I don't have HL2, so I doubt I'll be following this religously.
Sounds pretty cool though, If you want to check out, here ya go.

http://www.re2source.tk/

E3 DS goodness
Got a DS? Good. Got a WAN? Nice. Wanna play those demos Nintendo was letting everyone download at this years E3? Consider it done- sort of.
The demos have been uploaded, so you can download them and send them from you computer (provided you have a wireless connection set up, of course.).
Thing is, the program to do this with prefferebly works with certain wireless cards. Fret not though, as there are ways to make it compatible with whatever card your using, and if you have a GBA flash cart, you can just use that.
I havent done it yet, but here it is anyway:

http://www.akkit.org/DS/E3/


The best free OS, soon to be on the DS

This is extremely old news, but I think it is worth posting anyway. Linux on your DS! Hoo boy.
If anyone of you geeks know what the hell Sash is (I'm not a Linux guy myself), Theyve finally got that to work on the DS version of the Linux OS.
Pretty cool. Check it out here:

http://www.dslinux.org/?page=main


Utilities for homebrew DS games!
Tired of Nintendo responding to your game ideas with "go get a degree at Digipen"?
Arn't we all. Now we can all make our own games (on the DS. Isn't it funny how this post is DS themed?) with DS homebrew develpement Tutorials! Ive had some great ideas in the past, so I'm deffinately checking this out.
See for yourself here:

http://www.double.co.nz/nintendo_ds/index.html

If you have the skills, make use of them.


Thats all for now.

Cya.

First Post

First post, yipee.
So I finally succumb and accept that the purpose of blog is not the same as a Livejournal. I guess it isn't just for whiney angsty teens to post about how their life isnt fair.
At this moment, I am bored. Been bored all day. Tried installing a new game, but it couldnt find the DLL file. After I downloaded/installed said DLL, it said that it couldnt find the pathway, so screw it. I doubt my computer could handle R.O.S.E Online anyway.
Since Ive woken up today at 12 pm, its been quiet. Not that I'm complaining, but I'd like something besides my soar throat to focus on. Not much happened, nothing worth taking note of anyway.
I'm watching Attack of the Show on G4 and got this idea. I find some cool things every now and then, and I usually don't get to share those things imediately (especially at 3 in the morning). So by creatning this "Blog" I have a place to put these things, not just to share them, but so I can find them again when my browser dumps my favorites.
Random postings are to be expected, but the primary reason of why I've created this blog is because A, I'm bored, and B, I need something to keep me occupied, and a Geocities site never seemed to keep my interest.
This easy format should keep my lazy self for a while.

Until then, adios.