So I finally got a Wii, and I've been having a blast with it. Although two things did not sit right with me.
1: Why does the stand to the console have a stand of its own? 2: Why is it so ugly?
Don't get me wrong, I think the Wii looks plenty great, especially when stood veritcaly But it just does not look right. So right now, It's playing house to a few select games I've been playing more recently, and it seems to be serving them much better than the Wii.
And let's be honest, does that not just look a whole lot cooler?
Oh yeah, here's another why the Wii is better out of the stand. Put your Wii in standby mode with WiiConnect24 on. Notice how warm it is? Take a look at the bottom, see that air vent? Putting the console in the stand blocks ventilation, causing the system to become even warmer than it is when it is running. Take the Wii out and lay it flat - problem solved. Cooler system, and less straining on the disc reader. I'll bet it will have more life out of the stand.
Trip Report: Waiting in line for the Playstation 3
(photo is not of us, btw.) So on the 15th me and my freinds got there at Best Buy around 9am, over the next few hours we had to battle with security and the property manager to get us to camp outside the store early. After many trips of going to city hall (right next door) they finally caved in and lest is camp out by the door. They turned off outside electricity though, so we couldnt hook up our tvs and games.
Thats fine though, most of the time we just spent shooting the **** with fellow campers. Most of them, like us, were going to ebay the system, but there wasnt really any ****-talk about the PS3. There was a guy there who already bought Madden 07 and had it with him.
The store ended up having 26 units as advertised, but nearly 40 showed up over the two days, felt sorry for them. Luckilly I was 10th in line to get a system. We had a lot of people walking by asking what we were waiting for... which strikes me as odd because this has been on the news and in the paper and everything. There were a lot of wise-asses too, but screw them. We brought lazer tag to pass the time at night, free for all with 5 guns and grenades. It was pretty amazing.
The first night was probably the worst, we couldnt really do anything because of the rain, and we were still fighting the store at that point about how many inches we could be from the store, which was just about outside of the area sheilded by the awning. Luckilly they let us hug the wall after that, dollar store ponchos and umbreallas only go so far. Night was pretty bad, all I can say is thank god I brought a sleeping bag.
The 2nd night we had a lot of smart ass highschoolers. Driving in front of the Best Buy honking at us and peeling out, calling us ***s through a loudspeaker, and some stupid girls tried to egg us. Backfired on them though because we bought our own eggs and got the next guys that tried to mess with us. Highschoolers are serious business, you see.
My favorite part had to be when they got the PS3 demo unit hooked up. About 15 minutes after it was turned on, the PS3 caused half of Best Buy to lose power! Guess they underestimated the PS3's demanding $80/year power use. It even took out a streelight nearby.
We bought 3 systems, and are putting them up on ebay later today.
[Tech] Welcome to the future of display - Laser TV.
We've had a big surge in display technologies recently. First, we were wowed by flatscreen and plasma type displays, and now HD amazes and confuses us. The market seems to be transforming- new and better HD sets and moniters are announced so fast that by the time you get your hands on the newest, best display your money can buy, something even better is right around the corner. Well, better IS around the corner, and could be cheaper too.
Introducing the Laser TV. Thats right, I said laser. And according to the guys who made it, the benefits of a laser TV are pretty awesome. They are:
- Are half the weight and half the cost of plasma and LCD TVs
-Much richer color than plasma TVs
- Have 75% less power output than many plasmas and LCDs
- Are very thin, like most plasmas and LCDs
- Have a 50,000 hour life
- Offer almost constant 100% power output from the laser over the 50,000 hour lifespan (no degradation of color output)
And have a better refresh rate to boot!
"Laser TV can also display fast moving images without ghosting or image smearing, a drawback for some LCD screens with slow response times.
Unveiled for the first time in Australia yesterday, the Laser TV produces a picture which features deep blacks, rich colour and almost 3D-like picture depth complete with a full high definition resolution of 1920 x 1080.
LCD and plasmas can produce about half the colour gamut, which is the amount of colour which can be viewed by the human eye, whereas Laser TV can produce up to 90 per cent."
These things may be on the market by 2007, so keep an eye out.
Surprise, surprise, more Wii support from Ubisoft!
Ubisoft talks about another one of their upcoming Wii games, GT Pro, but that's not all... Yes. That is a sterring wheel accessory for the Wii mote. From Ubisoft.
Ubisoft pledges even more support by announcing Splinter Cell: Double Agent ready for the Wii launch! The Wii version will look on par with the current gen versions of the game, and feature Wiimote and nunchuck functionality. Ubisoft was hesitant to give details on the controlls, but did mention that you can pick locks with the Wiimote.
MVC spills the unconfirmed beans on Wii price and date (for UK)
Today, MVC posted this article on their site. "There’s still a week to go until Nintendo officially announces the details of the Wii launch – but MCV can reveal that the new console will hit retail by November 24th, it will be priced at £149 and stock will be plentiful."
That's more or less $250 US dollars, if they are telling the truth.
Keep your eyes on IGN folks, they say they have an announcement today. About a Wii game. they say that it is "expected". What could it be? Icarus? Duck Hunt? Only time will tell... Keep your eyes here!
Next week Nintendo is holding a special invitation only event, in which the Wii will be discussed, or something like that. We can expect some big news from this, especially since Nintendo isn't attending TGS! Mark your calenders!
IGN has released the MGS4 trailer from Leipzig Games Conference in glorious HD! Being the kind soul he is, J2 Cool at the NeoGAF Forums posted a few screengrabs for the less unfortunate. Check them out below!